Determination of equivalent width (W)


The equivalent width W is a measure of the "quantity" of light, which is cut out from the continuum of a star within an absorption line by absorption processes. It is based on the local relative flux of the continuum. Geometrically it is identical with the area of the considered line under the normalized continuum.

Mathematically, the W is defined by the following equation:

With

  • lambda_1 and lambda_2 = lower and upper wavelength limit of the observed line
  • F_c = relative flux of the continuum
  • F_lambda = relative flux of the line

According to this equation, no normalization of the spectrum is needed to determine the W to, but it has the curve of the continuum under the line to be known (the quasicontinuum F_c (lambda)). According to the definition a W of a absorption line is a positive number, the area under an emission line is counted negatively.

In reality, we do not have continuously measured the wavelengths lambda functions of F and Fc, but with discrete values of the individual pixels that correspond to a wave length interval. Thus the integration is replaced by a summation over the pixels (dispersion elements hlambda), which form the line within the line limits.

h_lambda = dispersion in Angström/pix
M= number of pixels within the line interval
F_j / F_c = flux normalized by the continuum for pixel j

Beispiel

 

On the left side you see the calibrated, but not normalized spectrum of lam Cep, an O-star. In addition to the Natriumdublett (5889 and 5896 angstrom) the strongly rotationally broaded HeI5876 is found. The MIDAS command 'integrate / line' calculated the W of the line. With 2 mouseclicks the integration area has been set and the continuum between them modeled by a straight line (This is the dashed line at the foot of the absorption line at about 50,000 ADU).

The printout of the executed command documented the specifications (start and end points of the integrated line = 5858.55 to 5879.09 Angstrom) and the calculated W = 0.9785 Angstrom.

Midas 012> INTEGR/LINE lamCep20080827_CIV
X_start (pix/world) X_end (pix/world) Pixel sep.
Line+Cont. Continuum Line Line/Cont Equiv. w.
----------------------------------------------------------------
5858.55 724.787 5879.09 881.230 0.131279
978934. 0.102791E+07 -48974.2 -0.476446E-01 0.978505

In this example, the quasicontinuum in the line could be set straight.

In most cases due to the curvature of the spectra many quasicontinuum points are chosen. They generate then a polynomial representation of the continuum. The reference continuum is then a curve. This definition of the quasicontinuum from many grid points can be both in MIDAS (OPA, SMS), as well VSpec done by mouse clicks. Therefore individual assessments are incorporated into the course of the resulting continuum model. The result is no longer measured result, but an interpreted result.

The advantage of the concept of equivalent width W is its independence from the resolution R of the spectrograph. Therfore "line intensities" of different observers with different spectrographs (and resolution R) are directly comparable, for the amateur scene, an important aspect.

On the left the complex H alpha line of bet Lyr is in emission. The exposures was integrated with OPA in MIDAS. The lower straight line is the adopted continuum. The calculated W = -14.28 angstrom is negative because it is an emission line. The W is geometrically the surface between the quasicontinuum and the normalized spectrum, the red bordered area.

It was also determined the V / R ratio. It is the intensity ratio of the maximum of the short-wavelength peak (V = violet) and the maximum of the long-wavelength peak (R = red), a number that often change over time and therefore is of interest, especially in case of Be stars with their rotating equatorial gas discs.

On left side a spectrum of P Cyg, the brightest LBV in the northern sky (LBV = Luminous Blue Variable). The star has many lines in emission, resulting in his extended hot envelope under the influence of intense ultraviolet light from the very hot stellar surface.

The broad H alpha line shows the typical P Cyg profile, an issue which is accompanied by a sharp short-wave shifted absorption. The latter is generated in the strong, by the light pressure to the outside driven fast stellar wind. The two peaks at 6580 angstroms are produced by carbon CII. The line with P Cyg profile at 6678 Angstrom is one of HeI.

The emission intensity of the H alpha line is unusually large, W = -68.8 angstroms. In the maximum of the line the object shines around 20 times brighter as the photosphere of the star! Here is also shown that the W include all components of the line. It includes both wings of the "foot" of the line, which are produced by Thompson scattering of photons emitted in the gas envelope by the electrons of the wind plasma. These photons are missed in the core of the emission line. They need to be included in the W, to collect the total line intensity of emitted H alpha photons.

Here it is clear that the evaluation of a spectrum and its lines needs a basic knowledge about the physics of the object. Otherwise naive misinterpretations are inevitable.

back to content

Bestimmung von Äquivalentweiten (W, equivalent width, im Deutschen oft mit EW bezeichnet)


Die Äquivalentweite W ist ein Maß für die "Menge" Licht, die aus dem Kontinuum eines Sterns innerhalb einer Absorptionslinie herausgeschnitten wird. Sie wird also bezogen auf den lokalen relativen Flux des Kontinuums. Geometrisch ist sie identisch mit der im normierten Spektrum zwischen Kontinuum und Spektrum liegenden Fläche der betrachteten Linie.

Mathematisch ist die W definiert nach folgender Gleichung:

Mit

  • lambda1 und lambda2 = untere und obere Wellenlängengrenze der betrachteten Linie
  • Fc = relativer Flux des Kontinuums
  • Flambda = relativer Flux der Linie
Nach dieser Gleichung ist keine Normierung des Spektrums erforderlich, um die W ermitteln zu können, aber es muß der Verlauf des Kontinuums unter der Linie bekannt sein (das Quasikontinuum", also Fc(lambda)). Nach obiger Definition ergibt sich die W einer Absorptionslinie als positive Zahl. Die Fläche unter einer Emissionslinie wird dagegen negativ gezählt.

In der Realität verfügen wir nicht über eine kontinuierlich über die Wellenlängen gemessene Funktionen von Flambda und Fc, sondern um diskrete Meßwerte der einzelnen Pixel, die jeweils zu einem Längenwellenintervall gehören. Damit wird die Integration durch eine Summenbildung über die Pixel (Dispersionselemente hlambda) ersetzt, welche die Linie innerhalb der Liniengrenzen bilden.

Beispiel

 

Wir sehen links ein kalibriertes, aber nicht normiertes Spektrum von lam Cep, einem O-Stern. Neben dem Natriumdublett (5889 und 5896 Angström) ist die stark rotationsverbreiterte HeI5876 zu finden. Mit dem MIDAS-Befehl "integrate/line" wurde die W dieser Lienie bestimmt. Mit 2 Mausklicks wurde der Integrationsbereich festgelegt und das Kontinuum dazwischen durch eine Gerade modelliert (Das ist die gestrichelte Linie am Fuß der Absorptionslinie bei ca. 50.000 ADU).

Der Ausdruck des ausgeführten Befehls dokumentiert die Festlegungen (Anfangs und Endpunkt der integrierten Linie = 5858.55 bis 5879.09 Angström) und die berechnete W = 0,9785 Angström.

Midas 012> INTEGR/LINE lamCep20080827_CIV
X_start (pix/world) X_end (pix/world) Pixel sep.
Line+Cont. Continuum Line Line/Cont Equiv. w.
----------------------------------------------------------------
5858.55 724.787 5879.09 881.230 0.131279
978934. 0.102791E+07 -48974.2 -0.476446E-01 0.978505

In diesem Beispiel konnte das Quasikontinuum im Bereich der Linie linear angesetzt werden, in vielen anderen Fällen müssen wegen der Krümmung des Spektrenverlaufs viele Stützpunkte gewählt und daraus ein Polynom erzeugt werden. Das Bezugskontinuum ist dann eine Kurve. Diese Festlegung des Quasikontinuums aus vielen Stützstellen lässt sich sowohl in MIDAS (OPA, SMS) wie auch VSpec durch Mausklicks erledigen.

Es gehen individuelle Beurteilungen über den Verlauf des Kontinuums in das Ergebnis ein. Das Ergebnis ist kein Meßergebnis mehr, sondern ein interpretiertes Ergebnis.

Der Vorteil der Äquivalentweite W ist ihre Unabhängigkeit von der Auflösung R des Spektrographen. Damit werden "Linienintensitäten" unterschiedlicher Beobachter mit verschiedenen Spektrographenauflösungen direkt miteinander vergleichbar, für die Amateurszene ein wichtiger Aspekt.

Links ist die komplexe Halpha Linie von bet Lyr in Emission zu sehen. Sie wurde mit OPA in MIDAS integriert. Die untere gerade Linie ist der angenommene Kontinuumverlauf. Die berechnete W von -14,28 Angström ist negativ, weil es sich um eine Emissionslinie handelt. Die W ist geometrisch die vom Quasikontnuum und dem normierten Spektrumgebildete rot umrandete Fläche.

Es wurde auch noch das V/R Verhältnis bestimmt. Es ist das Intensitätsverhältnis des Maximums des kurzwelligen peaks (V = violet) und des Maximums des langweliigen peaks (R = red), eine Größe, die sich bei Be-Sternen oftmals zeitlich verändert und deshalb von Interesse ist.

Links das Spektrum von P Cyg, der hellsten LBV am Nordhimmel (LBV = Luminous Blue Variable). Der Stern verfügt über viele Linien in Emission, die in seiner ausgedehnten heißen Hülle unter dem Einfluß des intensiven ultravioletten Lichts der sehr heißen Sternoberfläche entstehen.

Die breite Halpha Linie zeigt das typische P Cyg Profil, eine Emission, die von einer kurzwellig verschobenen scharfen Absorption begleitet wird. Letztere wird in dem starken, vom Lichtdruck nach außen beschleunigten Sternwind erzeugt. Die beiden Peaks bei 6580 Angström werden durch ionsisierten Kohlenstoff CII erzeugt. Die Linie mit P Cyg Profil bei 6678 Angström gehört zu HeI.

Die Emissionsstärke der Halpha Linie ist außergewöhnlich groß, W = -68,8 Angström. Im Maximum der Linie strahlt das Objekt rund 20mal heller wie die Photosphäre des Sterns! Hier sieht man auch, dass in die W alle Komponenten der Linie aufgenommen werden. Dazu gehört auch der beidseitig weitausladende "Fuß" der Linie, welcher durch Thompson-Streuung der in der Gashülle emittierten Lichtquanten an den Elektronen des Plasmas der Hülle entsteht. Diese Photonen "fehlen" ja im Kern der Emission (dem hohen peak). Sie müssen in die W einbezogen werden, will man die Gesamtlinienintensität der emittierten Halpha Photonen erfassen.

Hier wird deutlich, dass zur Auswertung eines Spektrums und seiner Linien eine gehörige Portion Kenntnis über die Physik des Objekts gehört. Sonst sind naive Fehlinterpretationen unvermeidlich.

zurück zum Inhalt