The signal-to-noise ratio S / N (signal to noise)


The S / N ratio of the continuum of a spectrum is an important "quality criterion", which describes the statistical significance of the information contained in the spectrum.


Basic knowledge see here (german).

The information is available in the measured CCD images in the single pixels. In addition to the desired flux measurements are present in the photographs yet (statistical) effects caused by the photon noise, electronics and optics. These are eliminated via the biases, darks, and flats up to unavoidable statistical fluctuations.

On the left side you see a excerpt of a single pixel row with an ST-7 produced bias (2x2 binning, 0.5 s exposure, as abscissa the pixel numbers are plotted). The mean signal (S) is 90 ADU, the fluctuation noise (N) is approximately 10% (9 ADU) of S. The estimated S / N of the bias is therefore approximately 90 / 9 = 10.

The same CCD excerpt from a 10-minute dark under the same conditions. Most pixels show with about 100 ADU an increased level compared with the bias, caused by the dark current. But many pixels are several times higher in intensity. That are the hot pixels, producing higher dark current.

The same excerpt of a 10 minutes flat, recorded by the complete equipment (telescope + Lhires III). The pixels are saturated to about 30% (16 Bit, max. ADU = 2 ^ 16 = 65536). There exists a clear gradient . The hot pixels are visible, of course, they also contribute their increased rate of dark-current. The normal "noise" is about 150 ADU (excluding hot pixels). The S / N in the flat can be roughly estimated at 20,000 ADU to 20000/150 = 133.

Subtracting from the flat the dark, is in the resulting masterflat even the 10 ADC noise of the dark introduced.

Midas 001> STATIS/IMAG bias-001R.fit
frame: bias-001R.fit (data = UI2, format = FITS), complete area of frame
minimum, maximum: 0.000000e+00 1.830000e+02 at pixel (1,1),(185,81)
mean, standard_deviation: 8.912154e+01 8.233002e+00
3rd + 4th moment: -5.60833 51.7889
total intensity: 8.68133e+06
median, 1. mode, mode: 8.914917e+01 3.588235e-01 9.006470e+01
total no. of bins, binsize: 256 7.176471e-01
# of pixels used = 97410 from 1,1 to 382,255 (in pixels)

Midas 002> STATIS/IMAG dark-011R.fit
frame: dark-011R.fit (data = UI2, format = FITS), complete area of frame
minimum, maximum: 0.000000e+00 3.908300e+04 at pixel (286,17),(325,184)
mean, standard_deviation: 1.357749e+02 3.368284e+02
3rd + 4th moment: 54.0146 4278.68
total intensity: 1.32258e+07
median, 1. mode, mode: 8.455499e+01 7.663333e+01 7.663333e+01
total no. of bins, binsize: 256 1.532667e+02
# of pixels used = 97410 from 1,1 to 382,255 (in pixels)

Midas 003> STATIS/IMAG flat-001R.fit
frame: flat-001R.fit (data = UI2, format = FITS)complete area of frame
minimum, maximum: 5.190000e+02 5.573700e+04 at pixel (369,1),(74,238)
mean, standard_deviation: 1.160649e+04 1.106488e+04
3rd + 4th moment: 0.432029 1.74744
total intensity: 1.13059e+09
median, 1. mode, mode: 1.236926e+04 8.438118e+02 8.438118e+02
total no. of bins, binsize: 256 2.165412e+02
# of pixels used = 97410 from 1,1 to 382,255 (in pixels)

The text on the left shows the printout of a command in MIDAS. There are calculated the image statistics for the images analyzed above. Important are the average (mean) and the standard deviation of pixel intensities.

The mean (S) of the bias is 89.1 ADU with a standard deviation of 8.23 (N). The median S / N in the bias is therefore 89.2 / 8.23 = 10.8. That corresponds fairly closely to the expectation for a random distribution. In such a case, the standard deviation (= noise) ~ squareroot (signal).

In the dark, of course, is the mean value increased on 135.8 caused by the warm pixels and the dark current, compared with the above <1s exposed bias. The standard deviation is much higher (336.8). However, during the actual data reduction, the effects of dark current and hot pixels is eliminated by the dark subtraction from the object images.

It is important to look at the flats. The exposure time is set such that the pixels are saturated to 30 to 50%. In the flat but in general, structures are found: the shadow of dust grains on the glass front of the CCD chip, horizontal dark streaks caused by dust in the slit, vignettings... Therefore, the standard deviation over all pixels of the flat is very high. This standard is not synonymous with noise but is the result of the depicted structures. The noise has only a small proportion in the standard deviation, roughly in the magnitude of the darks.

As shown above, is the noise in the investigated section of the flats pixel rows around 150. Theoretically, expected to be root (20000) = 141, ie practically the same value.

The Midas command 'statistics / ima' yields for the flat: mean = 11,606, standard deviation 11065 ADU.

IMPORTANT: By any correction using biases or darks or flats additional statistical errors are introduced into the resulting spectrum. If Ni is the noise in image i, and N is the noise in the sum spectrum, the mean square of all is (in the sum of n involved single shots + darks + flats):

N = squareroot ( N1 ^2 + N2 ^2 +...Nn ^2)

A sum spectrum, which is composed of one or a few long exposed pictures, provided a better (higher) S / N as a sum spectrum, which is integrated from many short exposed images (same total exposure time). Each recording smuggles its own noise in the sum spectrum. This noise in each individual recording is also genereated by the electronic noise (readout noise, etc.), which is the photon noise superimposed. Scientifically evaluable are spectra whose S / N is over 100. For analysis of time series even S / N up to 1000 is desirable. I target, whenever possible - in general, an S / N of > 200.

back to content

Das Signal-Rausch-Verhältnis S/N (signal to noise)


Das S/N-Verhältnis des Kontinuums eines Spektrums ist ein wichtiges "Qualitätskriterium", das die statistische Absicherung der im Spektrum enthaltenen Informationen beschreibt.

Grundlegende Ausführungen dazu finden sie hier.

Die Informationen liegen in den gemessenen CCD-Aufnahmen in den Pixeln vor. Neben den gewünschten Messergebnissen zum wellenlängenabhängigen relativen Flux (das Spektrum) sind in den Aufnahmen noch (statistische) Effekte durch das Photonenrauschen, die Elektronik sowie Optik vorhanden. Diese werden mittels der biases, darks und flats bis auf unvermeidbare statistische Schwankungen eliminiert.
Wir sehen links einen Ausschnitt einer einzelnen Pixelzeile aus einem mit einer ST-7 erzeugten bias (2x2 gebinnte kurzbelichtete Aufnahme, als Abszisse sind die Pixelnummern aufgetragen). Das mittlere Signal (S) liegt bei 90 ADU, die Schwankungsbreite (N, noise, Rauschanteil) beträgt etwa 10% davon (9 ADU). Das geschätzte S/N des bias ist also ca. 90/9 = 10.
Der gleiche CCD-Ausschnitt aus einer 10 min dark-Aufnahme (gleiches Equipment unter gleichen Bedingungen). Die meisten Pixel zeigen mit ca. 100 ADU noch das um den Dunkelstrom (10 ADU) erhöhte Niveau des bias, viele liegen aber um ein mehrfaches höher. Das sind die heißen Pixel, die höheren Dunkelstrom erzeugen.

Der gleiche Ausschnitt aus einem 10 min flat, aufgenommen durch das Equipment (Teleskop + Lhires III). Die Pixel sind zu ca 30% gesättigt (max. ADU = 2^16 = 65536). Es ist ein deutlicher Gradient vorhanden. Die heißen Pixel sind erkennbar, sie tragen natürlich auch im flat mit ihrer erhöhten dark-Rate (Dunkelstrom) bei. Das normale "Rauschen" beträgt etwa 150 ADU (warme Pixel ausgenommen). Das S/N im flat lässt sich bei 20.000 ADU grob zu 20.000/150 = 133 abschätzen.

Zieht man vom flat das dark ab, werden in das resultierende masterflat neben den ca. 150 ADU Rauschen noch die 10 ADU Rauschen des darks bzw. bias eingebracht.

 

Midas 001> STATIS/IMAG bias-001R.fit
frame: bias-001R.fit (data = UI2, format = FITS), complete area of frame
minimum, maximum: 0.000000e+00 1.830000e+02 at pixel (1,1),(185,81)
mean, standard_deviation: 8.912154e+01 8.233002e+00
3rd + 4th moment: -5.60833 51.7889
total intensity: 8.68133e+06
median, 1. mode, mode: 8.914917e+01 3.588235e-01 9.006470e+01
total no. of bins, binsize: 256 7.176471e-01
# of pixels used = 97410 from 1,1 to 382,255 (in pixels)

Midas 002> STATIS/IMAG dark-011R.fit
frame: dark-011R.fit (data = UI2, format = FITS), complete area of frame
minimum, maximum: 0.000000e+00 3.908300e+04 at pixel (286,17),(325,184)
mean, standard_deviation: 1.357749e+02 3.368284e+02
3rd + 4th moment: 54.0146 4278.68
total intensity: 1.32258e+07
median, 1. mode, mode: 8.455499e+01 7.663333e+01 7.663333e+01
total no. of bins, binsize: 256 1.532667e+02
# of pixels used = 97410 from 1,1 to 382,255 (in pixels)

Midas 003> STATIS/IMAG flat-001R.fit
frame: flat-001R.fit (data = UI2, format = FITS)complete area of frame
minimum, maximum: 5.190000e+02 5.573700e+04 at pixel (369,1),(74,238)
mean, standard_deviation: 1.160649e+04 1.106488e+04
3rd + 4th moment: 0.432029 1.74744
total intensity: 1.13059e+09
median, 1. mode, mode: 1.236926e+04 8.438118e+02 8.438118e+02
total no. of bins, binsize: 256 2.165412e+02
# of pixels used = 97410 from 1,1 to 382,255 (in pixels)

Der Text links zeigt die Ausdrucke eines Befehls in MIDAS, der für die oben analysierten Aufnahmen die Bildstatistik berechnet. Wichtig sind der Mittelwert (mean) und die Standardabweichung (standard deviation) der Pixelintensitäten.

Der Mittelwert (S) beträgt im bias 89,1 ADU bei einer Standardabweichung von 8,23 (N). Dies entspricht recht gut der Erwartung für eine zufallsbedingte Verteilung. In einem solchen Fall ist die Standardabweichung (= Rauschen) ~ Wurzel(Signal). Das mittlere S/N im bias ist also 89,2/8,23 = 10.8.

Im dark ist natürlich der Mittelwert mit 135,8 durch die warmen Pixel höher wie im < 1s belichteten bias. Auch die Standardabweichung ist viel höher (336,8). Allerdings werden bei der eigentlichen Datenreduktion die Einflüsse des Dunkelstroms (warme Pixel) eliminiert, indem das dark von den Objektaufnahmen abgezogen wird.

Wichtig ist noch die Betrachtung des flats. Die Belichtungszeit wird so angesetzt, dass die Pixel zu 30 bis 50% gesättigt sind. Im flat sind aber im Allgemeinen Strukturen zu finden: Schatten von Staubkörnern auf der Glasplatte direkt vor dem CCD Chip, horizontale dunkle Streifen durch Staub im Spalt, Vignettierungen... Deshalb muß die Standardabweichung über alle Pixel des flats sehr hoch ausfallen. Diese Standardabweichung ist nicht mit Rauschen gleichzusetzen sondern ist das Ergebnis der abgebildeten Strukturen. Das Rauschen hat nur einen geringen Anteil in der Standardabweichung, etwa in der Größenordnung des darks.

Wie oben gezeigt wurde, beträgt das Rauschen in dem untersuchten Pixelzeilenausschnitt des flats ca. 150. Theoretisch zu erwarten sind Wurzel(20000) = 141, also praktisch das gleiche.

Der Midas-Befehl statis/ima ergab für das flat: Mittelwert = 11606, Standardabweichung 11065.

Wichtig: Durch jede Korrektur mittels biases oder darks werden zusätzliche statistische Fehler in das Ergebnisspektrum eingebracht, die sich etwa quadratisch mitteln. Wenn Ni das Rauschen in Aufnahme i ist, dann ist das Rauschen NSumme im Summenspektrum das quadratische Mittel aller in der Summe beteiligten n Aufnahmen (Einzelaufnahmen der Serie, darks, flats):

NSumme = Wurzel ( N1^2 + N2^2 +...Nn^2)

Wichtig: Ein Summenspektrum, das aus einer oder wenigen langbelichteten Aufnahmen zusammengesetzt ist, hat ein besseres (höheres) S/N wie ein Summenspektrum, das aus vielen kurzbelichteten Einzelaufnahmen integriert wird (gleiche Gesamtbelichtungszeit vorausgesetzt). Jede Aufnahme schleust ihr eigenes Rauschen in das Summenspektrum ein. Dieses Rauschen in jeder Einzelaufnahme wird auch durch das Elektronikrauschen (Ausleserauschen etc.) erzeugt, das sich dem Photonenrauschen überlagert.

Wissenschaftlich auswertbar sind Spektren, deren S/N über 100 liegt. Für Auswertungen von Zeitreihen sind sogar S/N bis 1000 wünschenswert. Ich strebe -wenn möglich - im Allgemeinen ein S/N von >300 an.

zurück zum Inhalt