logoTypes of spectrographs and their functioning

For spectroscopy in a common sense see here.

Each spectrograph splits electromagnetic radiation (within the wavelenght workspace and the available resolution) in quasi-monochromatic radiation. We work in the visible range, ie at wavelengths between roughly 4000 and 7000 Angstroms = 400 to 700 nm (0.0000004 to 0.0000007 meters). The "white" light consists of a stream of photons (= smallest units of electromagnetic radiation = small localized wave packets, each representing a given energy unit). The photonic energy determines the color = wavelength of the photon.

The most important part of a spectrograph is the dispersing element. It splits the photons of different color. For visible light spectroscopy prisms and optical gratings are commonly used.

A prism is exploiting the difference in refractive power of glass for photons of different energy. For details, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dispersive_prism.

Optical gratings work by light diffraction and interference caused of regularly repeating patterns (think of shimmering color CD's). For details, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diffraction_grating.

For various types of spectrographs see here.

Some optical basics.

The simplest spectrograph consists of a dispersive element (ie, prism or grating) and a camera (= imaging optics) and a detector. The detector can be your eye, then this is called a spectroscope. For faint objects you will use more sensitive detectors, especially before the photographic plate, now prefer electronic detectors such as CCD or digital cameras.

For amateur astronomers here is the so called Staranalyser (graph left side). This is simply a transmission grid, which is attached to the lens apparatus of a normal photo or a CCD camera. This allows to get low-resolution spectra of all stars in the field of view produced by the camera.

See also http://www.astrosurf.com/~buil/staranalyser/obs.htm
or
http://www.patonhawksley.co.uk/staranalyser.html.

With a Staranalyser can be obtained in the simplest way first experiences with stellar spectra, in particular, will be familiar with the spectral types of stars. The Staranalyser disperses the parallel light beams of the stars incidenting from the sky.
This is generally valid: all dispersive elements such as prisms and gratings need a parallel incident light beam.
Behind the grating the original parallel starlight is deflected, the different angles depends of the color = wavelength. After imaging by the camera the originally starpoint is deformed to a colored stripe.

In order to be able to Faint Object Spectroscopy use a light-harvesting machine. This is the telescope. It concentrates the light falling through its aperture in a small image of the star in the focus. Subsequently, the light of the small (usually 15 to 60 um) star disk in the focus is again converted into parallel light by the collimator. However, this parallel beam is much narrower as the opening of the telescope and therefore more concentrated = brighter (see graph).
Collimator and the telescope should have the same focal ratio. Then the entire cone of light from the telescope, which cuts in the shared focus of the telescope and collimator (top of the cone) and re-opens in the direction of collimator, also fully covered by the collimator without geometric loss of light and transmitted as a parallel beam to the grating or prism is (see Figure, size only to demonstrate the equality of the focal ratios (lens diameter / focal length) of telescope aperture and collimator)
Typical f-numbers lies between 1: 4 to 1:15.

Thus, while the Staranalyser directly works with the parallel incoming starlight (works without a "concentration") the combination of telescope and collimator serves only the light collection and concentration. Strictly speaking, telescope and collimator are one instrument (although the collimator is placed in the spectrograph). In front parallel starlight falls within the telescope aperture and behind the collimator, it occurs in parallel and compacted again. Here one could also install a simple unit such as the Staranalyser (transmission grid + camera + detector) and would thus produce a simple spectrograph available, which is able already to show the spectrum of a very faint star at low resolution.

 

 

Type of dispersion element
Advantages
Disadvantages
Prisms

Virtually no light loss (High Efficiency)

High weight of each prism
High resolution can only be achieved by cascading many prism --> high weight
Nonlinear dispersion function
Gitter

Lightweight and small
High resolution attainable
Linear dispersion function
Interchangeable gratings

Higher light losses due to distribution of light intensity over several orders of diffraction
Clean the surface is very sensitive

 

In the past 10 years, the reflection grating enforced in the amateur field. Meanwhile even enter the high-resolution Echellespektrographs into the amateur scene. They have the great advantage that the entire wavelength spectrum is mapped 350 to 700 nm at a time, divided into about 30 to 50 "orders" = part of spectra, which can then be concatenated by the software to a long range spectrum. For examples, see the Baches and the eShel of shelyak.

However, it should be stressed here again that the measurement task defines which type of spectrograph the "right one".

The well-suited for self-construction and in many ways for the amateur valuable type of spectrograph is the classical grating spectrograph with a rotating reflection grating (see opposite). The camera is due to the high resolution (wide "fan"), only a portion of the optical wavelength range from (in the graphic the green light). By rotating the grating the desired spectral range can be set on the detector.
My first spectrograph was built exactly according to this model.

The angle between the two optical axes of the collimator and the camera (= total diffraction angle) plays an important role. It should be small, so that grids can be used with a high stroke count (high dispersion). A 90-degree design, as it is realized in the Dados spectrograph, yields a low resolution spectrograph (up to 900 lines / mm grating at maximum). Gratings with a higher dispersion are no longer usable. My first spectrograph had a total refraction angle of 45 , which also had not been optimal. I was able to use a grating with 1200 lines / mm (R = 6000).

If the total deflection angle is chosen to approximately 0 , we obtain the known Littrow-Spektrograph (graph). In this case the collimator is also used as a camera. The dispersed light falls back trough the collimator and is depicted on a tilted mirror on the detector (CCD). With these devices can be used highdispersive gratings of 2400 lines / mm (resolution up to R = 20,000). The Littrow design but has some disadvantages, such as the difficult collimation procedure (optical alignment of the inner elements) and the systemic distortion (curved lines when using a long slit), because in principle, the system is working outside the optical axis.

An important characteristic of a spectrograph is its dispersion and the closely related resolution R. The higher the dispersion the higher the resolution R and the more details can be discerned in the spectrum.
This resolution is in Staranalyser still low. But then one has the complete spectrum in the visible light ( "optical section") on the detector. Is due to higher dispersion the light diffraction range angle opened so far that he some colors falls outside the detector, we caught only a portion of the spectrum of visible light on the detector, however, higher resolution and more detail showing (as it were, magnified). We are seeing already from an essential criterion: the desired dispersion depends on the observation target. What else do you actually measure? The complete range of spectral survey (low resolution, R 1000) and classify the star or follow the profile of individual spectral lines studied (high resolution R> 10,000) or even the hyperfine structure (examined by lines at very high resolution R> 200,000)? Of these, the construction and the correct measurement function for the spectrograph depends on this goals. You have to decide your pricipal targets before you design and built a spectrograph, or alternatively buy. And the spectrograph must be adapted to the existing telescope (focal ratio) and also the CCD (pixel size and size of CCD chip)!!

back to content

logoSpektrographentypen und ihre Funktionsweise


Spektrographen spalten einen Wellenlängenbereich elektromagnetischer Strahlung (innerhalb des Arbeitsbereichs und der verfügbaren Auflösung) in quasi-monochromatische Strahlung auf. Wir arbeiten im optischen Bereich, d.h. bei Wellenlängen zwischen grob 4000 und 7000 Angström = 400 bis 700 nm (0.0000004 bis 0.0000007 m). Man kann sich das vorstellen wie ein Fächer: Im zusammengeklappten Zustand repräsentiert er das "weiße" Licht, das ein Stern oder sonstiges Objekt in Richtung des Beobachters sendet. Wird der Fächer durch das dispergierende Element des Spektrographen geöffnet, werden die verschiedenen Farben sichtbar, die unterschiedlichen Wellenlängen der am "weißen" Licht beteiligten Photonen.
Photonen = kleinste Enheiten elektromagnetischer Strahlung = kleine lokalisierbare Wellenpakete bestimmten Energieinhalts. Ihre Energie bestimmt ihre Farbe = Wellenlänge des Photons.

Das wesentliche Teil eines Spektrographen ist dieses dispergierende Element, ein Kunstobjekt, welches Licht aufzuspalten vermag. Im sichtbaren Licht verwendet man Prismen und optische Gitter (andere Spezialitäten können wir als Amateure außen vor lassen).

Zu verschiedenen Spektrographentypen siehe auch http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spektrograph.

Der einfachste Spektrograph besteht aus einem dispergierenden Element (also Prisma oder Gitter) und einer Kamera (= abbildende Optik) und einem Detektor. Als Detektor kommt das Auge in Frage (dann spricht man von einem Spektroskop), für lichtschwache Objekte benutzt man empindlichere Detektoren wie das Auge, früher vor allem die photografische Platte, heute bevorzugt elektronische Detektoren wie CCD- oder Digitalkameras.

Für Amateurastronomen ist hier der Staranalyser zu nennen (Grafik links). Das ist einfach ein Transmissionsgitter, das vor dem Objektiv eines normalen Fotoapparats oder einer CCD-Kamera befestigt wird. Damit lassen sich gleichzeitig gering aufgelöste Spektren aller Sterne im Blickfeld der Kamera erzeugen. Siehe nebenstehende Abbildung,
http://www.astrosurf.com/~buil/staranalyser/obs.htm
oder
http://www.patonhawksley.co.uk/staranalyser.html.

Mit einem Staranalyser lassen sich auf einfachste Weise erste Erfahrungen mit Sternspektren gewinnen, insbesondere wird man mit den Spektralklassen der Sterne vertraut.
Beim Staranalyser wird das als paralleles Lichtbündel vom Himmel einfallende Licht des Objekts direkt vom Gitter dispergiert. Hinter dem Gitter kommen also bezüglich der Richtung des originalen parallelen Sternlichts abgelenkte parallele Strahlenbündel heraus, je nach Farbe = Wellenlängen in unterschiedlichen Winkeln. Das ist allgemein gültig: Alle dispergierenden Elemente wie Prismen und Gitter benötigen als einfallendes Licht parallele Lichtbündel.

Um auch lichtschwache Objekte spektroskopieren zu können bedient man sich einer Lichtsammelmaschine. Das ist das Teleskop. Dieses konzentriert das Licht, das durch seine Öffnung fällt, in einem kleinen Bild des Sterns im Fokus. Anschließend wird das Licht des kleinen (meist 15 bis 60 um kleinen) Sternscheibchens mit einem weiteren Linsensystem, Kollimator genannt, wieder in paralleles Licht umgewandelt. Allerdings ist dieses Lichtbündel viel schmaler wie die Öffnung des Teleskops und dementsprechend konzentrierter = heller. Kollimator und Teleskop sollten das gleiche Öffnungsverhältnis haben. Dann wird der komplette Lichtkegel aus dem Teleskop, der sich im gemeinsamen Fokus von Teleskop und Kollimator schneidet (Spitze des Kegels) und in Richtung Kollimator wieder öffnet, auch vom Kollimator komplett ohne geometrische Lichtverluste erfasst und als paralleles Strahlenbündel zum Gitter oder Prisma weitergeleitet (siehe Abbildung, Maße nur zur Demonstration der Gleichheit der Öffnungsverhältnisse (Linsendurchmesser/Brennweite) von Teleskopöffnung und Kollimator, hier rund 1,3 : 1. Typische Öffnungsverhältnisse liegen zwischen 1 : 4 und 1 : 15).

Während also der Staranalyser mit dem direkt parallel ankommenden Sternlicht arbeitet (ohne "Aufkonzentrierung") dient die Kombination aus Teleskop und Kollimator nur der Lichtsammlung, also Aufkonzentrierung des in die Telekopöffnung fallenden Lichts. Genau genommen gehören also Teleskop und Kollimator zusammen (obwohl der Kollimator im Spektrographen untergebracht ist). Vorne fällt paralleles Sternlicht in die Teleskopöffnung und hinter dem Kollimator tritt es verdichtet und parallel wieder aus. Hier könnte man also wieder eine einfache dispergierende Einheit wie den Staranalyser (Transmissionsgitter+ Kamera+ Detektor) anbringen und hätte damit ein einfaches Spektrographensystem zu Verfügung, das bereits das Spektroskopieren recht lichtschwacher Sterne mit geringer Auflösung erlaubt.

 

Typ des Dispersionselementes
Vorteile
Nachteile
Prismen
  • Praktisch kein Lichtverlust (hohe Effizienz)
  • Hohes Gewicht
  • Hohe Auflösung nur erreichbar durch Hintereinanderschalten vieler Prismen >>> hohes Eigengewicht
  • Nichtlineare Dispersionsfunktion
Gitter
  • Leicht und klein bauend
  • Hohe Auflösung erreichbar
  • Lineare Dispersionsfunktion
  • Gitter auswechselbar
  • Höhere Lichtverluste durch Verteilung der Lichtintensität auf mehrere Beugungsordnungen
  • Oberfläche sehr empfindlich, schwierig zu reinigen

 

In den letzten 10 Jahren haben sich die Gitterspektrographen im Amateurbereich durchgesetzt. Mittlerweile treten sogar die hochauflösenden Echellespektrographen in die Amateurszene. Sie haben den großen Vorteil, dass das gesamte Wellenlängenspektrum von 350 bis 700 nm auf einmal abgebildet wird, aufgeteilt in ca. 30 bis 50 "Ordnungen" = Teilspektren, die dann per Software zu einem langen Spektrum aneinandergehängt werden können.
Beispiele siehe Baches, Christian Buil.

Allerdings ist auch hier nochmal zu betonen, dass es auf die Meßaufgabe ankommt, welcher Spektrographentyp der "Richtige" ist.
Der für den Selbstbau gut geeignete und in vieler Hinsicht für den Amateur wertvolle Spektrographentyp ist der klassische Gitterspektrograph mit drehbarem Reflexionsgitter (siehe nebenstehende Grafik). Die Kamera bildet wegen der hohen Auflösung (breiter "Fächer") nur einen Teil des optischen Wellenlängenbereiches ab (in der Grafik grünes Licht). Durch Drehen des Gitters lässt sich der gewünschte Spektralbereich auf dem Detektor einstellen. Mein erster Spektrograph war genau nach diesem Modell gebaut.

Der Winkel zwischen den beiden optischen Achsen des Kollimators und der Kamera (Gesamtbeugungswinkel) spielt eine wichtige Rolle. Er sollte möglichst klein sein, damit auch Gitter mit hoher Strichzahl (hohe Dispersion) verwendet werden können. Eine 90°-Konstruktion, wie sie beim Dados realisiert ist, begrenzt den Spektrographen auf niedrige Auflösungen (max. 900 Linien/mm-Gitter). Gitter mit höherer Dispersion sind nicht mehr einsetzbar. Mein erster  Spektrograph hatte einen Gesamtbeugungswinkel von 45°, was auch schon nicht optimal war. Ich konnte noch ein Gitter mit 1200 Linien/mm verwenden (R ca. 6000).
Wird der Gesamtbeugungswinkel zu annähernd 0° gewählt, erhält man den bekannten  Littrow-Spektrograph (Grafik links). In diesem Falle wird der Kollimator gleichzeitig auch als Kamera benutzt. Das am Gitter dispergierte Licht fällt zurück durch den Kollimator und wird über einen Umlenkspiegel auf dem Detektor (CCD-Kamera) abgebildet (oder umgekehrt: das einfallende Licht vom Teleskop wird eingespiegelt und das dispergierte Licht fällt geradlinig auf das CCD). Mit diesen Geräten lassen sich unter Verwendung hochdispergierender Gitter von 2400 Linien/mm Auflösungen bis R = 20.000 realisieren. Das Littrow-Design besitzt aber auch Nachteile, beispielsweise die schwierigere Kollimierung (innere Ausrichtung der optischen Elemente) und die systeminhärente Bildverzerrung (gebogene Linien bei Verwendung eines Spalts), weil prinzipiell etwas außerhalb der optischen Achse gearbeitet wird.
Ein wichtiges Charakteristikum eines Spektrographen ist seine Dispersion und die damit eng verbundene Auflösung. Je weiter sich der eingangs erwähnte gedachte Fächer öffnen lässt, desto höher ist die Dispersion und desto höher die Auflösung R. Desto mehr Einzelheiten lassen sich im Spektrum erkennen. Diese Auflösung ist beim Staranalyser noch gering. Dafür hat man aber das komplette Spektrum im sichtbaren Licht ("optischer Bereich") auf dem Detektor. Wird durch höhere Dispersion der Lichtfächer so weit geöffnet, dass er teilweise am Detektor vorbei fällt, erwischt man nur einen Ausschnitt des Spektrums des sichtbaren Lichts auf dem Detektor, allerdings höher aufgelöst und mehr Einzelheiten zeigend (sozusagen vergrößert). Hier zeichnet sich schon ein wesentliches Kriterium ab: Die gewünschte Dispersion hängt vom Beobachtungsziel ab. Was will man eigentlich messen? Das komplette Objektspektrum überblicken (in geringer Auflösung, R < 1000) und den Stern klassifizieren oder das Profil einzelner Spektrallinien studieren (hohe Auflösung R > 10.000) oder sogar die Hyperfeinstruktur von Linien untersuchen (sehr hohe Auflösung R > 200.000)? Davon hängt die Konstruktion des für die Meßaufgabe richtigen Spektrographen ab. Man muß sich erst einmal Ziele setzen, bevor man einen Spektrographen konstruiert und baut oder alternativ kauft. Und er muß an das vorhandene Teleskop angepaßt sein (Öffnungsverhältnis) !!!!

zurück zum Inhalt