logoMy start with astrospectroscopy


began in late 2004 with the planning and construction of a classical grating spectrograph.

You can find an extensive report (4 MB, german language) about the first half-year of my efforts (click here). It includes a lot of tips and tricks for collimation and testing of spectrographs, the measurement of the real dispersion, and a lot of sample spectra.

Here a second report attached in a short form.  

In addition you can find a presentation about this issue here. This presentation was hold at the annual meeting of the VdS-Spectroscopy Section in Sonneberg, May 2006.

The case of my first self-designed spectrograph consisted of an small wooden stall for mice (that's why I called the spectrograph, "the mice Villa"), as they are sold in pet shops for about 15 euros. The used 120 mm camera lenses (collimator and lens) were auctioned for a total cost about 20 euros. The little blue viewfinder is also given for little money. The most expensive part was the 25x25 mm² grating with 1200 lines / mm for about 70 euros. The costs totaled to around 150 euros (CCD camera not included).

The CCD camera was an old Audine (water cooled, KAF 401E CCD chip).

At the 45 position, the grating reflects the light directly into the viewfinder, so that I can see a large section of the sky. So I can look for my target-star by eye, indentify it, and put it in the middle of the observing field. After little rotation of the grating you can find the spectrum of the object star on the CCD. A very practical device to ensure that the correct star is observed.

The picture you can see on the left side shows an exciting moment in early 2005: first starlight. However, I had to learn during that night: spectroscopy is not so simple.

back to content

logoMein Einstieg in die Spektroskopie


begann Ende 2004 mit der Planung und dem Bau eines
klassischen Gitterspektrographen.

Einen umfangreichen Bericht (4 MB) über das erste Halbjahr meiner Bemühungen finden Sie unter Dokumentation. Darin viele Tipps und Tricks für Kollimierung und Test von Spektrographen, das Ausmessen der realen Dispersion und eine Menge Beispielspektren.

Ein Bericht in kurzer Form anbei.  

Und eine Präsentation anläßlich eines Vortrags auf der Jahrestagung der Fachgruppe Spektroskopie der VdS im Mai 2006 in Sonneberg finden Sie hier. Ebenfalls mit weiteren zusätzlichen Details.

Das Gehäuse meines ersten selbstkonstruierten Spektrographen bestand aus einem kleinen Holzstall für Hamster und sonstige Nagetiere (deshalb nannte ich den Spektrographen "die Mäusevilla"), wie sie in Tierhandlungen für ca. 15 Euro verkauft werden. Auch die verwendeten 120 mm-Fotoobjektive (Kollimator und Objektiv) wurden kostengünstig für insgesamt etwa 20 Euro ersteigert. Der kleine blaue Sucher ist ebenfalls für wenig Geld zu bekommen. Das teuerste Teil war das 25x25 mm²-Gitter mit 1200 Linien/mm für etwa 70 Euro. Die Kosten beliefen sich (ohne CCD-Kamera) auf rund 150 Euro.

Die CCD-Kamera war eine gebrauchte wassergekühlte Audine mit einem KAF 401E CCD-Chip.

Der Einbau des Suchers in 90° zur Kollimatorachse war meine beste Idee. Bei 45°-Stellung fiel das vom Gitter reflektierte Licht ("nullte Ordnung") in den Sucher, so dass ich einen großen Ausschnitt des Himmels sah. So konnte ich meinen Objektstern suchen, identifizieren und in die Bildfeldmitte setzen. Nach geringer Drehung des Gitters hatte ich dann das Spektrum des Objektsterns auf der CCD. Eine sehr praktische Einrichtung um sicherzustellen, dass der richtige Stern spektroskopiert wird.

Das Bild links zeigt einen aufregenden Augenblick Anfang 2005: firstlight am Stern. Allerdings musste ich in dieser Nacht lernen, dass spektroskopieren nicht so einfach ist.

zurück zum Inhalt